I started a business and climbed a mountain! And I mean literally climbed a mountain!

In this mad crazy rollercoaster of a life I have very recently made two quite major decisions! One was to start a business, just as some extra income alongside my full-time job, so that I can perhaps indulge in a few luxuries as I’m getting older and the other was to climb a mountain, something I had never thought about or prepared for or even really ever wanted to do but something that has now become quite significant in my life!

I’ve always had the desire to run my own business but to be honest although I am a harder worker and I can be focused I guess a part of me was always a little scared of what this would entail, I haven’t always been this confident and I always told myself that I wouldn’t be able to do it, so, the timing never seemed right, now however I’m in a much better place mentally and I believe I can do it and make a success of it and instead of feeling scared I feel excited by the prospect of where this could lead, I’m not naïve however and I know it’s going to take time to build but I am passionate about what I am doing so that has to be a good place to start! I’ve spent the last few years looking at myself with fresh eyes almost like an outer body experience if you like, observing my own behaviour in order to become a better, happier, stronger more confident person and although there is a fine line between observing and over analysing I think I have found the balance, I am on the right path and that’s what’s led me to plunging in at the deep end and taking on things I never thought possible, with the clock constantly ticking and reaching a certain time of life the phrase “It’s never too late” has become quite relevant to me and I have a clear vision of how I want my life to be! (My vision board below)

img_4582

Now when it comes to climbing the mountain, as I said earlier this was never on my life’s agenda, I’m far from an adrenaline junkie, I never liked the idea of camping and I would never have described myself as out-doorsy!  BUT and this is a big BUT you should never say never, one thing I have learned over the years because here I am writing a post about possibly one of the BIGGEST out-doorsy things a person could do! And you know what it has filled me with motivation! After my hiking trip, last year in The Pennines my partner and I “got the bug” so to speak for hiking so shortly after returning home we started looking at our next trip and we decided to book Scotland, somewhere I had always wanted to go, known for its outstanding beauty it seemed the perfect place to have our next adventure and I will be writing a travel post over the next week or so to give you more details! After planning the trip, we researched the surrounding areas and decided we might like to climb a” little bit” of Ben Nevis, (the tallest mountain in the British Isles) being complete novice’s we were not ignorant to the fact that this could be a fair challenge especially given our fitness levels! So being fully aware of the dangers we agreed that we would take a look, see what the weather conditions were like and check out and the terrain, big factors to consider when you’ve never done it before!

So we stuck to the plan, we went to the visitor’s centre first and spoke to one of the guides who advised us that due to the weather conditions that day we would be better to only attempt the halfway point (2000ft) with this seeming like a reasonable option, off we went!

img_4565-002

And let me tell you It was tough going, the “Tourists” path as they call it was a lot harder than I had imagined, it sucked up my energy like a sponge and I struggled, but we were determined so we opted for a stop start approach and just took our time, just over two hours later and the odd scary moment when the realisation of what we were actually doing had sunk in! We had reached the halfway point! At this stage, we considered continuing, we’d come this far perhaps we should push on, but the weather had started to turn and heavy cloud was moving in, so, we choose to be sensible and make our way back down! This was no easy feat, in fact physically it was just as hard if not harder coming down and somewhat scarier! However, despite the physical challenge of the climb I can’t tell you the overwhelming feeling of achievement I felt that day, I had just climbed Ben Nevis! Wow! I felt proud of myself and of my partner and I never imagined that something like that could make me feel the way I did! I pushed myself way out of my comfort zone and I did it! And yes I know people climb mountains every day, but not me, as far as I was concerned I had just done something really amazing and that felt great!

img_4555-002img_4554-002

So now when I look back on the idea of starting a business doesn’t seem scary at all, I believe I can achieve anything now and I won’t let fear every hold me back again! We have since booked a return visit to Scotland in September, this time to attempt to climb to the top of Ben Nevis and now we know what we are facing, let the training commence!

This time I am READY!

 

 

 

Author: madcrazylifesite

I'm just an ordinary person who loves to write, my life hasn't always been so ordinary and I kind of hope that my writing may help or inspire others who have had similar life exepriences.

2 thoughts on “I started a business and climbed a mountain! And I mean literally climbed a mountain!”

Leave a Reply

