Me, myself and I

It’s been around two weeks since my last post, life is great and has been busy but I have realised just how much I have missed sitting down to write, life happens and time passes..

But you know what!

Just sometimes it is absolutely necessary for it to be all about me!

In today’s demanding society that seems to command a lifestyle of all work and no play how many of us actually make time for ourselves? Not quality time with the family and friends or date night with your partner, no I’m talking about time for you and you alone! Do we really understand our own needs or our we “too” busy trying to fit everything else in that we forget that the most important person in our lives is us! Now that may sound selfish but it’s not meant that way, taking time out for yourself doesn’t make you self-centred it’s not about that it’s about making some regular time to do something that you enjoy for yourself, which to me is completely necessary!

I understand that not everyone likes being in their own company and for a lot of years I felt the same, it gave me way too much time to over think things and dwell on my past leaving me feeling lonely and anxious, so, I would make a conscious effort to be constantly busy which in turn created this vicious circle of being forever exhausted, it really was a no win situation, however after going through my fair share of therapy I eventually reached a point where I began to like myself and began to understand that if I was going to cope with all that life had thrown and continued to throw at me then I was going to need some regular time out, what I was going to do with this time out was another matter! I now had to learn about what I actually enjoyed doing. I won’t lie at first I felt a bit lost, trying to fill my time when I was used to running around like a headless chicken was not easy let me tell you but I was determined to do it, one thing that my therapist had drummed into me was that sometimes I need put my needs first so I wanted to give it my best shot! I think I started off by getting stuck into a few good books, that way I could get lost in the story and it would stop the chance of any anxious thoughts creeping up on me like the bogie man!

book

Then I got into power walking, I don’t pretend to be a runner so this was the next best thing and by walking I found I still got to appreciate my surroundings, it’s great for clearing your mind and “living in the moment” so to speak! I find now that I’ve gone from someone who hated my own company to someone who craves it and without it I can feel somewhat irritated! In fact, I would even go as far as saying that I think I’m actually pretty cool to hang out with these days Haha!

images

I’m even writing blogs, see how far I’ve come!

I know it’s not always easy to grab an hour for yourself especially if you have a young family or a high-flying career but I really do urge everyone to at least try, not just for your own sake but for the sake of all those around you, let’s face it you won’t be any good to anyone if you burn yourself out! I should know, I did exactly that!
So as I sit here writing this at home with nothing more than the sound of an occasional passing car outside, I really do appreciate this time, for a start it allows me to do this, to write, which is one of my passions that’s why It’s so important to have “me” time, time for “myself” why? because “I” need it!

And so do you!

4d12458ff04fb303c1199cecdac6a5a1

Author: madcrazylifesite

I'm just an ordinary person who loves to write, my life hasn't always been so ordinary and I kind of hope that my writing may help or inspire others who have had similar life exepriences.

Leave a Reply

