We are what we speak!

How positive is your vocabulary?

Many of us today are trying to practice a positive life and mind-set but is our vocabulary letting us down?

This is one part of the process that took me a while to get my head around but I understand now why it has such an important role within The Law of Attraction. How can you attract positivity if your conversation speaks negatively!

Confused?

It’s about being consciously aware of not speaking negatively, I mean if your aware of your thoughts then you must be aware of the words that are coming out of your mouth right? This is something I am continuing to work on in order to attract more positivity into my life! It can be a challenge at times but it’s part and parcel of living with a positive mind-set so it’s something that needs to be practiced, I like to think of it as stretching my mind or “brain training” which can only be a good thing as I’m not getting any younger!

Ok for me personally “I can’t wait” is a phrase that I often use, one of many that I am going to make a conscious effort not to think or say! Although like many people I would use it to express that I’m excited about something that’s coming up, I also realise that it appears that I am being impatient and also that I’m wishing away my time!  Which I’m absolutely not, we all know how precious time is! So you can see that this is actually quite a negative statement! Instead I am now going to use phrases such as “I am so looking forward to…..” or “I am really excited about…..” for whatever situation it is that would usually make me say this.

There are lots of other phrases and words that we use on a day-to-day basis that we could re word to give us a more positive vocabulary, this does take time and at the moment although I am getting a lot better at it I still find myself occasionally stumbling over some sentences that might include “it’s hard work” or “it’s not easy” stopping myself literally as the words leave my lips attempting to quickly replace them to be more positive ones and it’s becoming more natural the more I do it!  Now you might be thinking, this sounds way too complicated to me and ok I used to think the same, like I said it can be a challenge but stick with it, it does flow more easily after a while and once you are conscious that you are doing it, you will recognise more and more words and phrases that ordinarily you wouldn’t even have noticed you were using, things that you are just in the habit of saying, so this really does make you think before you speak, when your thoughts are reflected in your conversation you are creating more positive energy! Look at it this way it’s no different to starting a new healthy eating plan or exercise regime, you have to push yourself and the same kind of discipline applies to this it’s just breaking old habits so that you can continue to improve yourself, since I have been practising this it has also broadened my vocabulary, so I am using words that I wouldn’t necessarily have used before which means I am learning at the same time! You really can teach an old dog new tricks! Haha!

dog

Whether you feel that this is something you want to try or not just think about how many negative words and phrases you speak every day, maybe just start with one or two and when you’re about to say words like can’t, hard, difficult, worry, and problems (just to highlight a few) try replacing them with more positive ones, yes you may have to reword the whole sentence but it gets you into good practice. As I mentioned in my blog You talk the talk but can you actually walk the walk one of my favourites was “I can’t afford it” so now instead of this I might say “It’s not a priority for me at the moment” or “my funds are temporarily limited at the moment” “Temporarily is a great word because it’s stating that you know that your situation is temporary and it will pass which takes away the negativity from the sentence!

By constantly speaking negative words you are attracting that negative energy so if you’re day is filled with conversations that start with “I can’t” the chances are “you won’t”!

speaking

 

Author: madcrazylifesite

I'm just an ordinary person who loves to write, my life hasn't always been so ordinary and I kind of hope that my writing may help or inspire others who have had similar life exepriences.

Leave a Reply

