Do you even know what you’re missing?

Well do you? I’m talking about your “Everyday Life” here, if I asked you how grateful are you for your everyday life? What would your answer be?

You see whilst many of us do indeed have appreciation of all that we have, I wonder how many of us don’t even realise what we’re missing! I was one of those people so I know how easy it can be to go through life without even noticing the things that make us truly blessed, like what?, you might say?? Well I shall be getting to that shortly!

My life hasn’t always been as it is now and I will be sharing some of that in coming blogs, I think it’s important to share with you that I’m not just randomly spouting positive quotes and trying to convince people to live a positive life, there is a reason behind it and yes I am speaking from experience.

When I talk about noticing the things that make us truly blessed I don’t necessarily mean material things like having the latest all singing all dancing TV or a car that practically drives itself, yes I understand that these things do bring happiness to some people and that’s absolutely fine, but I’m talking about the everyday things in life, waking up in the morning to the sunlight streaming in through the gap in the curtains at the window, the cosy warmth of your bed, the smell of fresh morning coffee, the sand between your toes when you arrive at the beach on holiday, the fact that you’re on holiday! The list really is endless but how many of us are actually grateful for all of these things? When was the last time you were truly thankful for the smallest of things, mine was today and in fact every day, you see I consider myself to be “The luckiest girl in the world” why? Well, because I have everything I need! I have a car (ok she’s a more mature lady with the odd scrape here and there) but I have a car that runs and gets me to work, I have a home, it’s rented and a little on the small side but it’s the roof over my head, I have a beautiful daughter of whom I am very proud, I have a lovely little cat who is a complete and utter snob but he warms my heart with his funny little ways, I have “THE” best friends EVER! Who I love dearly, I have a family who, ok, we might not live in each other’s pockets but I would drop everything to be there if any one of them needed me and vice versa and I have a man in my life who I could never imagine being without, who looks out for me and loves me for all me imperfections, someone who makes me feel like the most beautiful woman in the world!

So now you’ve read just a small paragraph of why I am so lucky, my question is what are your thoughts? I mean are you thinking wow she really is lucky, or ok you don’t need to brag? Or are you thinking ok that’s a pretty ordinary existence! How does it make you feel? Did you also notice that the only “material” thing that I mentioned was my 16 year old car! What I really want and hope is that by sharing this it will inspire some people to stop and take a look around at their lives and start being thankful for the everyday “normal” things that so many of us take for granted! Now we all want certain things in life and there’s nothing wrong with that at all, I am no different, however before I embarked on this journey I was most definitely one of those people who always wanted more, more money, a better car, nice clothes, a better job, to be able to travel the list goes on and on! What I never noticed was that actually I had all of those things already I just never appreciated them and over time I began to lose them, I made bad decisions because I was never satisfied, I always wanted more and that was the attitude that lead to my depression and anxiety, a blessing in disguise as it turns out but a lesson that I learnt the hard way! Ever heard that saying “I want never gets” do you ever say that to your children? I bet you do!

You see by appreciating all that you have you really learn how to enjoy life and what it has to offer, if you just have an open mind, notice I said mind and not eyes, you can have your eyes wide open and still be blind to what is in front of you!

There is so much emphasis these days on working ridiculous hours to pay for everything we have on credit to fulfil the cravings of the materialistic world we live in! Is that really the life you want to live?

As mentioned earlier I consider myself to be the luckiest girl in the world, another reason for this (and there are many, too many to list in one blog that is!) my other half and I have done quite a lot of travelling around to different parts of the UK since we got together, weekends away for Birthdays etc.  and it has been fabulous, because of him I have had the opportunity to see some amazing places and do some awesome things, for this I am truly grateful but we’ve also seen some amazing things right on our door step, it hasn’t cost a fortune and what we’ve got out of it has been priceless! Simple things in life like, walking on the beach or through a Bluebell wood, hearing the birds singing or just watching the wildlife as it goes about its day has been breath-taking. Ok it might not be everyone’s cup of tea to watch a red deer rut in the middle of nowhere but you get what I am saying, regardless of our individual tastes we can all find appreciation in the simple things in life and by being grateful and thankful for our “Everyday Life” we will only find more and more things to be grateful for it’s a bit like the Domino’s effect and I’m not referring to the pizza place!

So are you ready to give it a go? Wherever you are sitting, standing or laying right now reading this, stop, take a look around you and really open your mind!

What do you see?

It can be as simple as reading your child a bedtime story or sitting down to a hot meal that someone has taken the time to cook for you! Whatever you’re doing, do it with GRATITUDE!

 

EVERYDAY THINGS are what make us truly blessed! Don’t let them go unnoticed!

hearts

Author: madcrazylifesite

I'm just an ordinary person who loves to write, my life hasn't always been so ordinary and I kind of hope that my writing may help or inspire others who have had similar life exepriences.

1 thought on “Do you even know what you’re missing?”

  1. This couldn’t be more true, we should all take time to reflect and reevaluate how much we have to be thankful for – it is easy to get swept along and overwhelmed by the routines and stresses of day to day life and forget to make time to breathe! Xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

