The art of being patient…. Is it really a Virtue?

During my journey to self-awareness I came to the realisation that I’m not or at least have not always been the most patient of people, I kind of knew this already but never really understood the importance of it before the “self-awareness lightbulb moment”! So how do I feel about practising patience and what am I doing about it, good question! I have good days and bad days, the good days generally consist of me being very nice and calm and lovely and understanding of all the things that usually irritate the life out of me, whilst the bad days consist of me wanting to, laugh, cry, scream and generally throw my toys out of my pram all at the same time and no before you ask I’m not suffering from the menopause, I’m not quite there yet!

Is this my next lesson in life? I’m sure you’ve heard the saying, “life will keep giving you the lesson until you learn it”, so why couldn’t this have been on the school curriculum growing up, it would have saved me the endless daily battles I have inside my head as to whether my reactions to the day are because I’m being impatient or is life just not living up to my expectations! I can assure you this is not an easy debate. If you stop and think about it patience effects every part of our lives, our jobs, our relationships, our friendships, our parenting skills, the list is endless, it can be the difference between a great day and a crappy day, it’s not rocket science but how aware of it are we? How aware are you of your patience levels and how is it effecting your life?

Now I believe that I am pretty blessed in life, I have a job that I love, a man I adore, I’m a proud mum and I reckon I have the best friends a girl could want, life isn’t perfect but that’s what I call blessed!  Still I find myself wanting the natural progressions of life to, well, basically get a move on, for example I want my daughter to pass her driving test, I want my partner and I to move in together, those types of things, its normal right? To want things in life that fill you with excitement, joy, love and happiness to move along, to progress forward, surely no-one wants to permanently stand still! So here’s the thing! Why do I feel so frustrated that this isn’t happening now! I want it now!!! Because I am being impatient! Don’t get me wrong I understand things take time and my current circumstance won’t allow things to change right now but it’s frustrating all the same that I can’t have it! Well, not yet anyway! So what do I do to change this we are who we are after all! We change it by being aware which means I can actually control how I react to this not so nice emotion, instead of letting it frustrate me and make me irritated what I actually should do and I am actively practising is enjoying what I’ve already got, the blessings I just told you about are what I should be focusing on because they are what I have now, don’t be so busy wishing for things you can’t change right now and end up missing out on what’s right in front of you, by practising patience you are living for today not tomorrow, not next week but now, none of that time is promised and to waste time being frustrated about it is pointless, yes we can make plans and work towards those plans and of course be excited about them but we must enjoy the journey that will take us there this is how memories are made, enjoy the ride so to speak!

So

Is patience really a virtue? Yes it is!

I know it’s easier said than done, believe me! But you have a choice you can spend your whole life frustrated and wishing the days, weeks and months away or you can appreciate the here and now and just live in the moment! Let life unfold, (something that I was actually told a few years back by a very good Tarot Card reader) she was right, about a lot of things in-fact! Even as I’m writing this I feel lucky and grateful for everything I have. It’s perfectly ok to feel what might seem as negative emotions but it’s about understanding them and why you are feeling them, once you can do this you will probably find yourself being a lot more patient, it can really make a difference to how you react to something. It doesn’t mean you have to stop wanting things or settle for second best it just means if you can just be patient, when what you really want finally comes you will cherish it even more than you would have before. Otherwise you’ll be back to square one desperately wishing for the next exciting episode to begin! And so it continues! Break the cycle and watch what happens!

There’s a lot to be said for old sayings like “practice makes perfect” the more you practice the easier something becomes! Why not give it a try you might surprise yourself!

patients

 

 

Author: madcrazylifesite

I'm just an ordinary person who loves to write, my life hasn't always been so ordinary and I kind of hope that my writing may help or inspire others who have had similar life exepriences.

Leave a Reply

